Informationen für:

Forschungs- und Transferzentrum "Nachhaltigkeit und Klimafolgenmanagement"
Forschungs- und Transferzentrum "Nachhaltigkeit und Klimafolgenmanagement"

5th -7th April 2017: World Symposium on Sustainability Science and Research: Implementing the UN Sustainable Development Goals, Manchester, United Kingdom


  • Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Hamburg University of Applied Sciences Research and Transfer Centre “Applications of Life Sciences”
  • RCE Hamburg and Region
  • Inter-University Sustainable Development Research Programme (IUSDRP)

International Partners

  • United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
  • Regional Centres of Expertise on Education for Sustainable Development Hamburg and Region and London
  • UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation, Man and Biosphere Programme (UNESCO-MAB)
  • UN Environment Programme (UNEP)
  • Baltic University Programme

Scientific Commitee


  • Prof. Walter Leal (BSc, PhD, DSc, DPhil, DL, DLitt) Manchester Metropolitan University and Hamburg University of Applied Sciences


  • Prof. Jasim U Ahmad, University of Jahangirnagar, Bangladesh
  • Dr. Abul Quasem Al-Amin, University of Malaya, Malaysia
  • Maria de Fátima Pereira Alves, Open University, Portugal
  • Dr. Nelson Amaro, Galileo University, Guatemala
  • Prof. Ulisses Azeiteiro, University of Coimbra, Portugal
  • Prof. Alexander Bassen, University of Hamburg, Germany
  • Prof. Sandra Caeiro, Universidade Aberta, Portugal
  • Prof. Adriano Ciani, University of Perugia, Italy
  • Prof. Bernd Delakowitz, University of Applied Sciences Zittau-Görlitz, Germany
  • Mr. Jos Eussen, RCE Rheine-Meuse, Netherlands
  • Dr. Alexander Feher, University of Nitra, Slovakia
  • Prof. Baltasar D´Andrade Guerra, UNISUL, Brazil
  • Prof. Don Huisingh, University of Tennessee,  USA
  • Professor Sadiq Hussain, Ibri College of Applied Sciences, Sultanate of Oman
  • Prof. Ralf Isenmann,  Munich University of Applied Sciences, Germany
  • Prof. Simon Kemp, University of Southampton, UK
  • Prof. Maris Klavins, University of Latvia, Latvia
  • Prof. Linas Kliucininkas, Kaunas University of Technology, Lithuania
  • Prof. Kerstin Kuchta, Hamburg University of Technology, Germany
  • Dr. Paula Lindroos, Baltic University Programme, Sweden
  • Prof. Rodrigo Lozano, Utrecht University, Netherlands
  • Prof. Benjamin Nölting, Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development, Germany
  • Prof. Othieno Ogugu, University of Nairobi, Kenya
  • Prof. Violeta Orlovic Lovren, University of Belgrade, Serbia
  • Dr. Evangelos Manolas, Democritus University of Thrace, Greece
  • Dr. Karel Mulder, TU Delft, Netherlands
  • Prof. Maria Novo, National University on Distance Education, Spain
  • Prof. Paul Pace, University of Malta, Malta
  • Prof. Joost Platje, Wroklaw School of Banking, Poland
  • Prof. Diana-Mihaela Pociovalisteanu, Constantin Brancusi University, Romania
  • Dr. Arun Prasadh, Pondycherry University, India
  • Prof. Osvaldo Quelhas, Fluminense Federal University, Brazil
  • Prof. Lars Ryden, Baltic University Programme, Sweden
  • Prof. Mikhail Shilin, Russian State Hydrometeorological University, St. Petersburg, Russia
  • Prof. Belay Simane, University of Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
  • Prof. Luis Velazquez, University of Sonora, Mexico
  • Dr.  Menas Wute, University of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe
  • Prof. Sergei Zenchenko, Moscow State University of Economics, Statistics and Informatics, Minsk Branch, Belarus
  • Dr. Michaela Zint, University of Michigan, USA

The scientific committee is well balanced, both in respect of the participation of members of all geographical regions, and in respect of gender.

Scientific and Executive Committee at Manchester Metropolitan University

    • Prof. Phil Wheter, Dean of the Faculty of Science and Engineering, Chair
    • Dr Elizabeth Price, Head of the School of Science and the Environment, Vice-Chair
    • Dr. John Hindley, Head of Environmental Strategy
    • Prof. Paul Hooper, School of Research, Enterprise and Innovation
    • Dr. Olga Kuznetsova, Management Deparment, Business School
    • Dr. Haruna Musa, Hollings
    • Professor Alberto Paucar-Caceres, Research Co-ordinator, Business School
    • Dr Elizabeth Price, School of Science and the Environment
    • Prof. Callum Thomas, School of Science and the Environment
    • Dr. Konstantinos Tzoulas, School of Science and the Environmen
    • Prof. Cathy Urquhart, Head of Research
    • Ms Elisabeth Walley, Senior Lecturer in Sustainable Business


    About the location: Manchester, United Kingdom

    Manchester is the second largest city in the United Kingdom and is easily reachable by means of its international airport, and excellent rail and bus connection to different parts of the country. Details on the City, a list of hotels and other details on travel and leisure (in English) can be seen at:

    The city administration is especially committed to a sustainable growth, and is keen to promote social and environmental measures which lead to an improvement in living conditions and quality of life. The City of Manchester is fully supportive of the Symposium, to be opened by the Mayor or his representative.

    Contact point for scientific and strategic cooperation, and for guidance on the publication

    All questions related to scientific inputs, publication and strategic partnerships should be sent to:

    Professor Walter Leal (BSc, PhD, DSc, DPhil, DEd, DLitt, FSB, FRGS, FLS)
    Professor of Environment and Technology
    School of Science and the Environment Manchester Metropolitan University
    Chester Street Manchester,
    M1 5GD United Kingdom
    E-mail: w.leal(@)

    Conference administration and contact point for further details

    All questions related to abstracts and registrations should be sent to:

    Dr. Mihaela Sima
    Institute of Geography
    Romanian Academy
    E-mail: simamik(@)

    Letzte Änderung: 18.05.16

    An die Redaktion


    Dr. Mihaela Sima
    Institute of Geography
    Romanian Academy
    E-mail: simamik(@)