Representing the faculty within and outside the university

The Dean's Office heads the faculty in accordance with the responsibilities assigned to it under the Hamburg Higher Education Act (HmbHG): it manages the budget allocated to the faculty by the Executive Board and decides on the allocation of positions. It is also responsible for determining the faculty's strategic direction.

The Dean's Office is currently made up of the dean and six vice deans. The vice deans for teaching also head their respective departments.

Members of the Dean's Office (Updated: September 2023)

NamePositionContact information
Prof. Dorothea WenzelDean

T +49.40.428 75-4635
dorothea.wenzel (at) haw-hamburg (dot) de

Prof. Dr. Torsten EdelerVice dean for studies and teaching
Head of the Department of Media Technology
T +49.40.428 75-7666
torsten.edeler (at) haw-hamburg (dot) de
Prof. Dr. Steffen BurkhardtVice dean for studies and teaching
Acting head of the Department of Information
T +49.40.428 75-3651
steffen.burkhardt (at) haw-hamburg (dot) de
Prof. Dr. Markus OberthürVice dean for studies and teaching
Member of the Department of Design management team
T +49.40.428 75-4678
markus.oberthuer (at) haw-hamburg (dot) de
Prof. Dr. Hannah FrühVice dean for research

Prof. Ulrike SchemppVice dean for quality management and appointments

T +49.40.428 75-4682
ulrike.schempp (at) haw-hamburg (dot) de

Prof. Dr. Tessa TaefiVice dean for international affairs

tessa.taefi (at) haw-hamburg (dot) de

Susanne WittkuhnHead of department administrationT +49.40.428 75-4643
susanne.wittkuhn (at) haw-hamburg (dot) de

Contact information

Olga Spiller
Finkenau 35
22081 Hamburg
Tel.: 040 42875 - 4613
Fax: 040 42875 - 7609

olga.spiller (at) haw-hamburg (dot) de