The Dean's Office

The Dean's Office heads the faculty and represents it both within and outside the university.

It is currently made up of the dean and four vice deans. The dean oversees the faculty and manages its business, while the vice deans serve as deputies and are responsible for specific issue areas. The Dean's Office manages the budget allocated to it by the Executive Board and decides on the allocation of positions within the faculty. The dean is elected for a five-year term, and the vice deans for three-year terms.

NamePositionContact information
Dr.-Ing. Thomas FlowerDeanthomas.flower (at) haw-hamburg (dot) de
040 42875-8000
Berliner Tor 7
20099 Hamburg
Room 12.86
Prof. Zhen Ru Dai
Professor – System and software engineering
Department of Computer Science

zhenru.dai (at) haw-hamburg (dot) de
040 42875-8541
Berliner Tor 7
20099 Hamburg
Room 7.86b

Prof. Dirk Adamski
Professor – Chassis simulation and testing
Department of Automotive and Aeronautical Engineering
Vice dean for studies and teachingdirk.adamski (at) haw-hamburg (dot) de
040 42875-7822
Berliner Tor 9
20099 Hamburg
Room C221
Prof. Birgit Wendholt
Professor – Computer science
Department of Computer Science
Vice dean for studies and teachingbirgit.wendholt (at) haw-hamburg (dot) de
040 428 75-8060
Berliner Tor 7
20099 Hamburg
Room 10.84
Prof. Anna Kerstin Usbeck
Professor – Construction and CAD 
Department of Mechanical Engineering and Production Management

Vice dean for research


annakerstin.usbeck (at) haw-hamburg (dot) de
040 42875-8707
Berliner Tor 21
20099 Hamburg
Room 1210